Criminal Law in Shreveport, LA

Law Office Of Alan Stegall provides criminal law representation throughout Shreveport, LA and the surrounding areas. We handle every single case personally and launch a vigorous defense, whether for a simple traffic ticket, a felony or a drug charge. We take pride in helping our clients through what are often difficult times when they're dealing
Criminal Law Book - Law Office in Shreveport, LA


For over a decade, the Law Office of Alan Stegall has defended those accused of DWI in the state of Louisiana. We will work to lessen your fines, keep you out of jail, get your license reinstated and minimize the impact your DWI conviction will have on your future. But you need to be proactive in contacting an attorney if you are arrested. Contact the Law Office of Alan Stegall.

Louisiana DWI Laws

DWI, or driving while intoxicated, means that you were driving with a blood alcohol content over the state maximum and that your physical abilities were impaired due to intoxication from drugs or alcohol. The state of Louisiana has strict DWI laws that, if violated, can mean jail time, heavy fines and life-altering consequences.
The legal limit for blood alcohol content in Louisiana is .08% for adults and .02% for drivers under 21. Louisiana DWI laws also pertain to the use of drugs, legal or illegal, that impair your ability to operate a motor vehicle.

Implied Consent

Louisiana also has an implied consent law. This means that, as a driver, you agree to submit a chemical test of breath, blood or urine if a police officer has reason to believe that you are under the influence of drugs or alcohol. If you refuse the chemical test, you will be fined and your license will be suspended. Additionally, first and second DWI convictions go on your criminal record. Third and fourth DWI convictions will get you a felony record.

Louisiana DWI 30-Day Rule

If you are cited for DWI, you have 30 days to request a hearing with the DMV to retain your license. If you fail to do so, your Louisiana driver's license will automatically be revoked. It is important to speak with DWI attorney Alan Stegall as soon as possible after your arrest.

Louisiana DWI Penalties

1st offense – up to 6 months in jail, driving privileges suspended for up to 1 year and fines of up to $1,000 plus court costs.
2nd offense – mandatory 48 hours in jail with up to 6 months of jail time, driving privileges suspended for up to 2 years and fines of up to $1,000 plus court costs.
3rd offense – mandatory 1 year in jail with up to 5 years of jail time, driving privileges suspended, fines of $2,000 plus court costs, and you must attend substance-abuse programs to receive probation.
4th offense – a 10-to-30-year sentence with a 2-year minimum in jail without benefit of probation and parole, driving privileges suspended, $5,000 fine plus court costs and you must attend substance-abuse programs to receive probation.

Drug Cases

If you've been accused of a drug offense in Louisiana, you need the help of an experienced criminal defense attorney. Since 1999, the Law Office of Alan Stegall has defended clients accused of drug charges. We will evaluate your case to locate any procedural errors and hold law enforcement accountable for any illegal tactics used against you. We will ensure that the criminal process is handled properly and that your constitutional rights are protected. Contact the Law Office of Alan Stegall.

What Is a Drug Crime?

Drug crimes are the possession, distribution, use or manufacture of narcotics, depressants, stimulants, hallucinogenics and anabolic steroids, or the chemicals used in the production of drugs. Each of these crimes has different standards and carry different penalties.
  • Possession – Possession occurs when a person owns illegal drugs or knowingly obtains them. It can also occur when a person fails to get rid of drugs or is just in the vicinity of illegal drugs. A person can be charged with possession just for holding drugs for a friend.
  • Distribution – Distribution is when a person either sells or gives away illegal drugs.
  • Use – Use is when a person takes drugs. This can pertain to illegal narcotics as well as legal drugs that were not obtained in a lawful manner.
  • Manufacture – The creation, purification and conversion of drugs into illegal drugs is considered manufacture.

Louisiana Drug Charge Penalties

Marijuana possession charges are relatively minor. However, other illegal drug charges can be considered felonies, but this depends on the amount of drugs involved, whether or not the accused has a criminal history and other mitigating factors. Distribution and manufacturing are more serious than possession and the penalties can include incarceration, the loss of your right to own a firearm, the loss of your right to vote or the inability to obtain a work permit.


Misdemeanors in Louisiana are crimes that are typically punishable by a fine and/or jail time in a local or parish jail. Misdemeanors are generally nonviolent crimes and cause less harm than felonies. Misdemeanor crimes can include but are not limited to:
  • Disturbing the peace
  • Simple battery
  • Public intoxication
  • Resisting arrest
  • Shoplifting
  • Underage drinking
  • First & Second Offense DWI conviction

Enhanceable Crimes

Misdemeanors in Louisiana are enhanceable crimes, meaning that any subsequent convictions can turn your misdemeanor into a felony. This can lead to your being jailed for up to six months on a single charge. The right criminal defense attorney can make a huge difference in your case.

Shreveport Misdemeanor & Criminal Law Attorney

Probation is possible for misdemeanor cases. However, even though misdemeanors are less serious than felonies, they can have serious consequences on your future, including employment opportunities and education. It is important to consult Shreveport criminal defense attorney Alan Stegall in order to protect your rights and possibly have your record expunged. Contact the Law Office of Alan Stegall.


Felonies are crimes where the offender may sentenced to death or imprisoned to hard labor. Some felonies can carry mandatory minimum sentences. In the state of Louisiana, major felony crimes include:
  • First-degree murder
  • Second-degree murder
  • Aggravated rape
  • Manslaughter
  • First-degree robbery
  • Third-offense DWI
  • Armed Robbery

Penalties for Felonies In Louisiana

If you're charged with a felony, the consequences can be severe and long lasting. In addition to fines and imprisonment, you're also facing a criminal record, the loss of your right to own a firearm, loss of your right to vote and the inability to obtain a work permit. It can also affect future employment opportunities as well as your education.

Shreveport Felony & Criminal Law Attorney

If you are accused of a felony crime in Louisiana, you need to speak with a criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. For over a decade, the Law Office of Alan Stegall has offered aggressive criminal defense services in Shreveport. Contact the Law Office of Alan Stegal.


Expungement is a court order given to remove an arrest or conviction record from public view. After a record is expunged, the public should not be able to find it. This process will allow you to state under oath and on employment or rental applications that you have not been convicted of a crime. Since a criminal record can severely impact your employment, education, housing options and other basic rights, the expungement of your record can greatly benefit your future.

Am I Eligible for Expungement?

Louisiana's expungement law is complex. Basically, expungements can be granted if any of the following scenarios apply:
  • An adult has been found not guilty of a crime. All records of his or her arrest, detention and investigation will be destroyed.
  • An adult convicted of a felony or misdemeanor who had his or her charges dismissed after successful completion of probation or the statute of limitations for prosecution has expired. These records will be sealed but not destroyed.
  • A juvenile under the age of 17 if no charge resulted in an adjudication or if it was adjudicated as a misdemeanor, but no firearms were involved and at least two years has passed since the most recent judgment, they can obtain an expungement order under Article 918 of the Children's Code.
  • For a juvenile felony, the juvenile can seek expungement of the judgment and all accompanying records after five years from the most recent judgment, but only if the offense was not homicide, manslaughter, kidnapping, armed robbery or a sex crime.
If you feel you're eligible to have your criminal record expunged, contact the Law Office of Alan Stegall.

How Do I File My Petition for Expungement?

Adults with misdemeanors must file a motion for expungement in the court where the conviction was entered or in the district court in the parish where they were arrested if no prosecution was initiated.
To expunge a record of felony arrest or dismissal, the motion is filed in the District Court in the parish where the arrest took place. It is also required that a mandatory request for a “contradictory hearing” is served to the law enforcement agency and district attorney involved in the arrest. The purpose of this hearing is to demonstrate entitlement to the expungement order.
For people who are at least 17, a motion for expungement of juvenile records can be filed with the court that has jurisdiction over the case. It must then be served on the head of the agencies, district attorney and clerk of court that have access to (or possession of) the records. You must demonstrate grounds for the expungement under Article 918 of the Children's Code.

Shreveport Record Expungement Attorney

It is important to not go it alone when dealing with expungement. If you make any mistakes, your petition can be denied. The Law Office of Alan Stegall can hep you correctly file your petition for expungement. The successful expungement of your criminal record can give you a second chance at a successful future, so get it right the first time! Contact the Law Office of Alan Stegall.