Don’t Let A DWI Arrest Ruin Your Future
For over a decade, the Law Office of Alan Stegall has defended those accused of DWI in the state of Louisiana. I will work to lessen your fines, keep you out of jail, get your license reinstated and minimize the impact that a DWI conviction will have on your future.
But you need to be proactive in contacting an attorney if you are arrested. The sooner you contact me, the better I will be able to preserve your driving privileges and protect you from the harshest penalties. I handle drunk driving cases in Shreveport, Bossier City and surrounding areas of Louisiana, as well as neighboring jurisdictions of Texas. Call 318-221-8000 for a free consultation.
Louisiana DWI Laws
DWI, or driving while intoxicated, means that you were driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) that exceeds the statutory maximum. The state of Louisiana has strict DWI laws that, if violated, can mean jail time, heavy fines and life-altering consequences.
The legal limit for BAC in Louisiana is .08% for adults and .02% for drivers under 21. Louisiana DWI laws also pertain to the use of drugs, legal or illegal, that impair your ability to operate a motor vehicle. First and second DWI convictions go on your criminal record as misdemeanor crimes. Third and fourth DWI convictions will get you a felony record.
Louisiana also has an implied consent law. This means that, as a driver, you agree to submit a chemical test of breath, blood or urine if a police officer has reason to believe that you are under the influence of drugs or alcohol. If you refuse the chemical test, you will be fined and your license will be suspended. You can also still be prosecuted for DWI if there is other evidence of impairment by drugs or alcohol.
Louisiana DWI 30-Day Rule
If you are cited for DWI, you have 30 days to request a hearing with the Department of Motor Vehicles to retain your license. If you fail to do so, your Louisiana driver’s license will automatically be revoked. It is important to call me as soon as possible after your arrest to fight for your driving privileges and to confront the criminal charges.
What Are The Louisiana DWI Penalties?
- 1st offense – Up to 6 months in jail, driving privileges suspended for up to 1 year and fines of up to $1,000 plus court costs.
- 2nd offense – mandatory 48 hours in jail with up to 6 months of jail time, driving privileges suspended for up to 2 years and fines of up to $1,000 plus court costs.
- 3rd offense – mandatory 1 year in jail with up to 5 years of jail time, driving privileges suspended, fines of $2,000 plus court costs, and you must attend substance-abuse programs to receive probation.
- 4th offense – a 10-to-30-year sentence with a 2-year minimum in jail without benefit of probation and parole, driving privileges suspended, $5,000 fine plus court costs and you must attend substance-abuse programs to receive probation.
How Can A DWI Attorney Help Me?
You have rights no matter what the breathalyzer says. I examine every facet of your case to ensure that law enforcement honored your rights and followed procedure. Did they have probable cause to pull you over? Did the officer properly conduct the field sobriety tests that led to your arrest? Are the blood alcohol test results reliable?
My goal is to get DWI charges dismissed or negotiate lesser consequences that will not have such a heavy impact on your future. I will also represent you in the DMV hearing to retain your license or help you get your driving privileges reinstated as soon as possible.
I am attorney Alan Stegall, and you will work directly with me. I know what to do to protect your rights and improve your outcome. Call me today at 318-221-8000 for a free initial consultation.